A Test Data Query can be locked or unlocked after it has been created for a Project or Project Version. Only users with the appropriate permissions are able to unlock and lock a Test Data Query. When locked, it cannot be deleted from the Project.
Why lock a Test Data Query?
Locking it prevents users from deleting the Test Data Query. A query should be locked when you do not want it deleted from the application.
How does locking work?
Locking a Test Data Query causes the Delete option to be removed from the Actions column in the G-Query Dashboard. Because it is not present, users cannot delete the Test Data Query. Users who are able to access the Project and/or Project Version will still be able to manage Test Data Query configuration and download it.
Note: To learn how to view Test Data Queries for a specific Project or Version, please see: How to Access and View Test Data Queries for a Project.
How to Lock a Test Data Query
Locking a Test Data Query prevents it from being deleted by other users. To lock a Test Data Query, complete the following steps:
- Click on the Lock Icon within the Action Column for a Test Data Query.
- It will appear unlocked when a Test Data Query is not currently locked.
- Click Yes within the warning message to lock the Test Data Query.
Note: Click No to close this message without locking the Test Data Query.
- The Lock Icon will appear locked in the table.
Note: The Delete (Trash Can) option will no longer be present for the Test Data Query.
How to Unlock a Test Data Query
To unlock a Test Data Query, complete the following steps:
- Click on the Lock Icon within the Action Column.
- Next, click Yes in the confirmation message to unlock it.
Note: Click No to close this message without unlocking the Test Data Query.
- Once it has been unlocked, the icon will appear unlocked as well.